Skip to content


Introduction to IGCSE

Cambridge IGCSE is a 30 year old curriculum, which had been created for 14 to 16 year old students, and it is one of the most popular internationally recognised qualifications. With an aim to provide students with a holistic education, the IGCSE curriculum inculcates an array of educational skills that accommodate theoretical knowledge as well as practical competency.

Cambridge IGCSE aligns its educational standards with the GCSE qualification taken in England. In fact, it offers a perfect springboard to higher education, including the IB Diploma Program, which is offered at MHSI.



At MHSI, we lay great emphasis on developing the five Cambridge learner attributes - Confident, Responsible, Reflective, Innovative and Engaged, through our IGCSE educational programme. The young learners are always encouraged to explore the relationships among various subjects. We follow an inquiry-based teaching approach, where students not only get acquainted with the stimulating curriculum content, but also learn to think creatively, analyse situations successfully and solve problems effectively.

The 2-year IGCSE programme is offered as a bridge course between the pre-IGCSE and the IB Diploma Program. It is possible for a student to join the IGCSE programme if he/she has completed a course that corresponds to 9 years of schooling in any board.

IGCSE Syllabus

Cambridge IGCSE offers a flexible curriculum, and at MHSI, we follow the same philosophy. We offer a wide range of subjects for the holistic growth of our students, and they are encouraged to choose their subjects wisely, in accordance with the learner attributes.

The students are expected to take up 2 English courses, 1 additional language, and one or more courses from groups III to V, bringing the total to nine subjects.

The list of subjects offered at the IGCSE level at MHSI is as follows:

I - Languages

  • Literature in English

  • First Language English

  • French (as a foreign language)

  • German (as a foreign language)

  • Hindi (as a second language)

II – Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Economics

  • History

  • Geography

  • Global Perspectives [also qualifies as a Group V subject]

III - Sciences

  • Biology

  • Chemistry

  • Physics

  • Environmental Management [also qualifies as a Group II subject]

IV – Mathematics

  • International Mathematics

  • Additional Mathematics

V – Creative and Professional

  • Business Studies

  • Physical Education

  • Art and Design

  • Accounting

  • Computer Science

  • Information and Communication Technology

Cambridge ICE Awards

At MHSI, we offer the Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE). It is an internationally recognized group award that is awarded to IGCSE students, who have completed at least 7 subjects from the 5 above mentioned groups. The ICE awards help students to demonstrate competency in the wide variety of subjects and skills that they are taught over the 2 year long IGCSE course. Students who qualify for this award are placed in any one of the following categories – Distinction, Merit or Pass.